Women in Horror Recognition Month 2013

72824_10151657727475558_1903260270_n

Head over to my facebook page, https://www.facebook.com/HayleysMovieAndTvReviews for plenty of discussion on Women in Horror recognition month. Unfortunately due to university work including my dissertation and script work, I am unable to dedicate as much time to film reviewing currently however by May time I plan to be back making this blog more active, so directors, producers and writer’s out there please send me your horror movies to review! Next February I have big plans to mark this awesome occasion which draws awareness to the under-representation of women within the genre but for now please comment here or on facebook and tell me what is your favorite female orientated film and why?! Let’s generate some discussion!

However, I do believe that thanks to the recent Soska storm with their increasingly popular body-modification, Asian and European influenced American Mary that women direction in horror is being put on the map, which is very inspiring for me. The Twisted Twins have managed to create a powerful female film and have managed the balance between remaining sexy without being gratuitous and exploitative! We need more of this please!  There is definitely plenty of room for talented women in horror and hopefully I can achieve my dream of becoming a horror presenter, writer and director!

Below are a few pictures of the genre women that have inspired me!

SoskaSisters1

Sylvia & Jen Soska (The Twisted Twins)

582770_509316209118802_1399237812_nEmily Booth.

johartleyJo Hartley

imagesKatharine Isabelle

sophiadisgraceSophia Disgrace

tristan riskTristan Risk

If you’d like to send me a screening via vimeo of your film’s for a future review, please contact me on hayley_roberts1989@hotmail.co.uk

or send a message via the facebook page!

Hayley Alice Roberts

Leave a Reply

