Closure: A Review of “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2” (2011)

WARNING: SPOILERS ALERT!!

I have just emerged from the cinema having finally gone to watch the epic conclusion of what has to be one of the world’s biggest franchises. Prior to seeing the film there seemed to be a “marmite” effect going on with some people telling me how fantastic the film is and why they liked it to others having a more negative view on it, I’m in the first team and noticed that the “haters” could not actually give a legitimate reason or evaluate what they didn’t like about it they would just merely say “its crap”. Most people will argue “it left loads out of the book and didn’t include this bit” etc. but what they fail to remember is this is not a book it is a film, a complete different medium and it is based on a book not a shot by shot carbon copy where every written word has to be represented through the cinematography in great detail- we’d be there forever otherwise! In all honesty I will admit that I have not read the last three “Harry Potter” books; therefore I am purely reviewing what I watched on screen and how I felt the moments were presented, I couldn’t care less about “what they left out” of the book, I’m a fan of the films and that’s it really.

Back in 2001 when “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone” was released I was eleven years old and just like the characters I had began high school, I’m also very close in age to the actors, Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson and Tom Felton therefore I find it very relateable and the films are something I’ve grown up with and they’ve grown up with me; I love how the tone of the films have gradually become darker as they have gone on, becoming a metaphor for real life, as children we are all optimistic and believe in things but as we get older we do discover the harsher realities of life and I think this aspect is presented well in its tone. Its hard to believe 10 years on its all finished, and I do feel incredibly sentimental regarding this and saddened that we are never going to have a film from this franchise ever again. The moment the film begins the tone is incredibly emotive and the title card is dragged out slightly because as an audience we know its the last time we are ever going to see it. From then on the film keeps the audience’s interest, its action-packed and exciting from the get-go. I enjoyed the sequence in Gringots bank with the dragon as it was both intense and exciting at the same time and the CGI was just impressive. I loved how all the characters from the previous films had their little appearances and how Neville Longbottom (Played by Matthew Lewis) had developed as a character, I liked the brave quality he possessed. The film was completely intense throughout as it led to Harry and Voldermort (Played by Ralph Fiennes) finally coming face to face for the last time and contained so many twists and turns that gave the audience the sense of anticipation. Severus Snape’s (Played by Alan Rickman) death scene was done exceptionally well, as previously stated I am not a fan of the books therefore didn’t know that the character was going to be killed off in such a horrific manner but I think for everyone watching it was still shocking; I loved how the camera pulled away so we couldn’t actually see what was happening and only had the sound to rely on to create an effective scene, I think that made it all the more tragic and horrific. The eagerly anticipated kiss between Ron and Hermione was perfect, I loved how there was no dialogue, there didn’t need to be and he just kissed her; that moment was long-overdue. Both Professor McGonagall (Played by Maggie Smith) and Mrs Weasley (Played by Julie Walters) had fantastic action scenes which made the audience laugh and cheer. I think everything in the film was done very poignantly; my favourite shot had to be near to the end with the three leads standing on the bridge, it was a very powerful cinematic moment and represented the journey that we have been on with them for the past ten years. I also think the “19 years later” sequence was a perfect ending to the film and brought it all full circle. The performances in the film were strong from the whole cast, and it actually changed my opinion of Daniel Radcliffe as an actor, in the past I always found him very “wooden” but this film shows how much he has grown as a performer and I think this is down to learning as he went along and also the fact he’s had experience in theatre.

“Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2” in my opinion is a fantastic film and the perfect closure for the series, I personally couldn’t have asked for anything better, it was action-packed, intense and gave off a sentimental feeling all at the same time, the cinematography was breath-taking and its one of the best examples of modern film-making. My only criticism was I felt the 3D used was unnecessary and didn’t stand out in any way at all. I really am going to miss Harry Potter and I feel very proud that is was part of my generation and I think these films will forever remain remembered and popular. Completely satisfying.

Hayley Alice Roberts.

2 Responses to “Closure: A Review of “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2” (2011)”

  1. I love the variety of movies and television shows you have written about! Was a bit scared to read some when I read spoiler alert. haha! I’ve just started my own blog hayleysfilmreview.wordpress.com, please visit and leave me some constructive comments.

    • Thank you for your comment and interest in my blog. I feel it is vital to warn the reader regarding spoilers as I do not want to ruin the film experience for them. Your name’s Hayley as well? I will have a look at your blog soon. Thanks again.

Leave a comment